Three MVA Seniors are National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

Six Lake County students have been named Semifinalists in the 66th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Three Semifinalists are from Montverde Academy, one is from East Ridge High School and two are from Eustis High School. These academically talented high school seniors were among 16,000 recently announced nationwide, and have an opportunity to continue in the competition for 7,600 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $30 million that will be offered next spring.
"We are excited to have students from our district included among these outstanding scholars," said Diane Kornegay. Lake County Schools Superintendent. "I'm proud to see the hard work and commitment of our students recognized at the national level. We will continue to support and encourage all of our students as they work toward their goals and exceed our highest expectations."
“We are extremely proud and thrilled for our students on being selected as semifinalists for the National Merit Scholarship Program,” said Dr. Kasey C. Kesselring, Montverde Academy Head of School. “Kendyl, Jathin and Avery are hard-working, driven students who excel at all they do because of their focus, dedication and preparation for the next step in their educational endeavors. They have become leaders who will continue to lead in college and on into their chosen careers.”
Lake County's National Merit Semifinalists are:
  • Kendyl Cardwell, Montverde Academy -- She is a member of Montverde Academy’s Distinguished Scholars program, the Head of School’s Leadership Institute (HLI) as a representative on the Arts and Athletics Leadership Committee and the Math Club; and runs on MVA’s state-ranked, nationally recognized varsity cross country team. Kendyl also founded MVA’s Newspaper Club and has published articles in the South Lake Tablet, a Clermont based online news source.
  • Jackson Cheplick, East Ridge High School -- He ranks in the top 3.5 percent of his class, participates in Advanced Placement courses whenever offered and has even taken additional AP courses through virtual school. He participates in the Lake County Rowing Association, HiQ, Mathlympics and serves as the VP of Competition for DECA.
  • Jathin Gadiparthi, Montverde Academy -- He is a four-year member of MVA’s Robotics team, who excels at the building portion of the competitions. Jathin is also a member of the Math Club and pursuing a Study Area Concentration specialized diploma in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM). 
  • Audrey Lord, Eustis High School -- She is a member of the Eustis High School Golden Panther Band program and has earned many Superior ratings at both district and state level music performance assessments. She has also been a member of the FBA District 19 All District Concert Band. 
  • Ruarai McKenna, Eustis High School -- He is a member of the Eustis High School Golden Panther Band program, participating in both the marching and concert band and has earned many Superior ratings at both the district and state level music performance assessments. He also has been a member and officer for Thespian Honor Society for two years and the theatre program for three years.  
  • Avery Morrison, Montverde Academy -- She is a member of Montverde Academy’s Distinguished Scholars program and runs on MVA’s state-ranked, nationally recognized varsity cross country team. Avery has committed to attend and run for the University of California, San Diego, NCAA Division I cross country team.
More than 1.5 million juniors in about 21,000 high schools entered the 2021 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2019 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of Semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state.

From the approximately 16,000 Semifinalists, about 15,000 are expected to advance to the Finalist level, and in February, they will be notified of this designation. All National Merit Scholarship winners are selected from this group of Finalists. Merit Scholar designees are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishment and potential for success in rigorous college studies, without regard to gender, race, ethnic origin, or religious preference.
(News release is also available at this link.) Lake County Schools is the 19th largest school district in the state of Florida, serving approximately 40,000 students across 45 learning sites including conversion charter schools and a virtual school. Our mission is to provide every student with individual opportunities to excel. We aim to be a dynamic, progressive and collaborative learning community embracing change and diversity where every student will graduate with the skills needed to succeed in post-secondary education and the workplace. For more information, visit and follow us on Facebook, Twitter and YouTube. 
© 2019 Montverde Academy. All Rights Reserved